to content

Boards of the university

Bremerhaven University of Applied Sciences is not managed by a few heads, but by numerous boards. The members of these boards can actively shape and co-determine studies, teaching and research.

Academic Senate

The highest board of the university is the Academic Senate. It is democratically elected and makes all decisions of fundamental importance in the areas of study, teaching and research. Its area of activity is regulated in the Bremen Higher Education Act (Bremisches Hochschulgesetz).

The Academic Senate is made up of 17 members who, with the exception of the deans, are elected by their status group. Seven professors and four employees are elected for a term of office of two years, two of whom are technical employees and two of whom are administrative employees. They are currently elected from 01.04.2023 to 31.03.2025. The four student members are elected annually. Their current term of office runs from 01.04.2024 to 31.03.2025. The Rector chairs the Academic Senate without voting rights. The entire Rectorate acts in an advisory capacity. The meetings are generally open to the public.

Faculty councils

The Faculty Council is a body established in accordance with the Bremen Higher Education Act (BremHG) at universities in the federal state of Bremen. Paragraphs 87 and 88 of the Bremen Higher Education Act regulate the tasks and composition of the Faculty Council.

Commissions and committees of the study programmes

Commissioners and board elections